Summary of the NADP Executive Committee October 2, 2012 Portland, Maine

Meeting began at 3:45PM.

The meeting began with a call to order, approval of the Spring 2012 minutes, and Agency Stakeholder reports on current standing of NADP within individual agencies and the future monitoring outlook.

Next were Committee Reports, where several motions were passed.

Quality Assurance Advisory Group, where three motions were passed.

- 1. Site Operators for the wet-deposition network sites will submit an overview photo of their site on an annual basis. This will help identify siting and/or operational problems in a timelier manner.
- 2. Implement a questionnaire (5-10 questions) for site operators to encourage review of important materials (SOPs, training videos, manuals, etc) relating to the operation of the site. Start with survey sites and USGS QA sites.
- 3. Establish a "Clearinghouse" for site operators on the NADP website. Would include links to the Operation Manuals SOPs, Memos, and the Egage precipitation site.

Ecological Response and Outreach Subcommittee, where one request was made and one motion was passed.

- 1. Request: For the Program Office to send notice to tech committee when things happen that pertain to NADP.
- 2. Motion: John Walker is the new EROS chair and Wayne Robarge is the new EROS secretary.

Critical Loads and Atmospheric Deposition Subcommittee, where one motion was made.

1. Jennifer Phelan and Jason Lynch will be the new CLAD co-chairs and Clara Funk is the new secretary.

Data Management and Analysis Subcommittee, where one motion was made.

1. Gerard van der Jagt is the new DMAS secretary.

Network Operations Subcommittee, where three motions were passed.

- 1. Approve the AMNet Site Performance and System Survey.
- 2. Beginning in January 2013 the number of AMoN travel blanks will be one in every fourth set deployed, with the travel blanks being randomly distributed across sites.
- 3. Amy Ludke is the new NOS Secretary.

Joint Subcommittee where three motions were passed.

1. Approved AMNet SOP.

- 2. To move forward with a Trace Metals Wet Deposition Initiative.
- 3. Marty Risch is the new secretary of the Executive Committee.

Budget Advisory Committee, where one motion was approved.

1. The Program Office budget was approved.

Total Deposition Science Committee where no motions were made.

Old Business was considered.

- **A)** Belfort Instruments continues to pursue having one of their new digital gages considered by the network. After discussion, the Program Office was directed to contact Belfort Instruments, and ask that two gages be provided for testing purposes.
- **B)** Discussion of placing a summary of the Executive Committee minutes on the public website was discussed.
- C) A report by the Program Office was given that described the current operation of the network, budget details, Budget Committee membership, Frontier Global Sciences purchase by Eruofins Laboratory Group, update on the inclusion of the New York State Acid Rain Monitoring Network within NTN, current sites in jeopardy of closing, state of the Litterfall Monitoring Initiative, a new partner at N-CON Systems, and the possibility of providing deposition velocities/estimates of mercury fractions. One motion was made for TDEP to consider this at the Spring Meeting and provide suggestions. The report was concluded with discussion of putting older depositional databases on the web.
- **D)** A detailed discussion of the ongoing collaboration for mercury measurements was given, including the current work with Taiwan EPA, and the Global Mercury Observation System. A report back to Executive in the spring is expected.
- **E**) A full report on the Mercury Litterfall Initiative was given.

New Business was considered.

- **A)** A motion was passed to allow the NTN IN20 site to move more than 10km but retain the same site identifier.
- **B)** To move forward (from Joint Subcommittee) with a Trace Metals Wet Deposition Initiative, with an advocates' committee formed (C. Rogers, chair).
- C) Discussion of the upcoming 2015 Acid Rain Conference was held.
- **D)** Marty Risch was elected as the new NADP Secretary.
- **E**) Discussion of the 2013 Fall Meeting occurred.

Meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.